The Only Hunger Games Spinoff(s) I’m Interested In

Recently, after their raucous appearance at San Diego Comic-Con, three of my favorite actors stopped by ‘Conan’ to talk about ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2.’ In their little interview Conan asked them if there could be any potential sequels and Josh Hutcherson let it slip that there is a distinct possibility.

Jennifer Lawrence’s reaction kind of confirms it, too. We could get sequels to ‘The Hunger Games’ or at least spinoffs that exist in the world of Panem created by Suzanne Collins.

Usually I balk at spinoffs that aren’t Marvel or Harry Potter related. Who needs them? The three books in the current HG trilogy tell a pretty distinct story and Katniss has her own arc. The more I thought about it though, the more I realized that part of my DOES want some more HG stuff, as long as it’s a specific story with specific characters.

I don’t want anything about Katniss, Peeta, or their little adorable babies. Leave them alone for goodness sake! Another movie would mean more conflict for the Mellark-Everdeens and haven’t they been through enough? I also don’t really care too much about the other tributes. Unless it’s Johanna and Finnick, we both know that they all die. And if it is about Finnick, we do know how that will end. Telling the story from another character’s point of view doesn’t really do it for me, either. As Hutcherson said in another interview, Katniss is the best person to tell this story.

What I do want are movies about Haymitch.

Though he’s a little pricklier in the books, I love the movie version of Haymitch brought to life by Woody Harrelson. I find him to be a fascinating character, especially when we learn about his own Hunger Games in ‘Catching Fire.’ That subplot was dropped from the cinematic version for time, but it’s super interesting to me. Later we also find out that because Haymitch resisted some of the responsibilities bestowed on the recently crowned victors that his family and friends paid the price. I’d see a movie on that in a heartbeat. So much emotion and action and suspense!

I’d also watch anything on Haymitch post-Hunger Games. Does he stay a drunk that raises geese? Does he have a love affair with Effie? Do Katniss and Peeta’s children inspire hope within him? Does he help rebuild Panem? Is he looked upon as a wise old historian by the time his hair turns completely grey? So many unanswered questions!

Other than more celluloid exploration of everyone’s favorite mentor, I don’t need more Hunger Games. Some things should just be left alone and don’t need sequels, prequels, spin-offs or tie-ins. Every now and then, it’s nice to leave something alone.

But if you insist on poking the bear, Lionsgate, give me some Haymitch Abernathy.

Leave a Reply

