Guess Who’s Back (30 Before 30 and Life Update)

Hello everyone!

It’s been a while, right? Like, it’s been so long that I forgot my password and spent five minutes retrieving it. I missed writing in this blog, but unfortunately things like writing, reading, and other hobbies were put on the back burner while the last half of the school year owned me. I also had some changes in my personal life and I managed to cross three more goals off my ’30 Before 30′ list.

As of now, I only have four days of school left and then it’s a glorious summer break. I’m doing what I call “reverse weeks” over summer; two days of working and five days off. I’m especially hoping to read and write a lot this summer while I make a little extra money on the side. I’m also hoping to relax some. I loved my first year of teaching, but it was definitely draining at times.

The other big change in my life, is that I am in a serious relationship with a nice young man. I know, hide your shock! He’s great, and probably a little embarrassed that I’m mentioning him on my blog. Hi DJ! *waves*

Other than my job and my social life, I’ve been busy with family matters, getting my teaching license, and looking for a place to live. A lot is going on, per usual, but I’m hoping to clear some time for the blog and writing in general.

And last but not least, here are some of the things I crossed off my 30 before 30 list:

Go to an NBA Game 

I watched the Nuggets lose from the nosebleeds.

I watched the Nuggets lose from the nosebleeds.

My friend Allie, who actually follows the NBA, accompanied me to my first ever professional basketball game. I got discount tickets through work and we enjoyed sitting in the upper deck and chatting. I can see why some people dislike the NBA. The only exciting part was the last ten minutes. I still prefer college basketball, but I’m not totally shunning the NBA. LeBron is kinda growing on me….

Sing karaoke 

Didn't get a picture of myself singing (what were my friends doing?!), but here's a cute group shot.

Didn’t get a picture of myself singing (what were my friends doing?!), but here’s a cute group shot.

For my birthday I rounded up my book club friends and we spent a snowy night at El Charrito, a bar in Denver that features karaoke on Saturday nights. Let me tell you, we sang our little hearts out and I had a GREAT time. I sang two songs; “Royals” by Lorde (all my myself, too!) and “22” by Taylor Swift with the book club gals because it isn’t a party if Taylor doesn’t make an appearance. I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did. I was nervous, but the whiskey and gingers helped quell the stage fright. I also appreciated that my friends got up and sang, too. They’re a good bunch.

This is what it looked outside when we left. #coloradoweather

This is what it looked outside when we left. #coloradoweather

Go to the Kentucky Derby and Bet on a Horse

Here's my ticket!

                       Here’s my ticket!

I was in attendance for the 141st Kentucky Derby and ho-ly crap it was an experience. I don’t think I’d been in a crowd that big since I went to Lollapalooza six years ago. What struck me was that so many people were dressed up. I got lucky on my outfit–I found my dress for $8 at Target the day before I left and my friend Cassie lent me one of her adorable fascinators. I would like to thank her for her generosity and Kate Middleton for starting this trend.

Big thanks to Sarah and Cassie and their hospitality and flexibility on the trip.

Big thanks to Sarah and Cassie and their hospitality and flexibility on the trip.

I think my favorite thing about the Derby was experiencing the general anticipation. The day started somewhat early with watching the news coverage. The whole city of Louisville seems to be overcome with excitement. We then moved to a tailgate which was really fun. There I met my friends Sarah and Marleen and new friend Lizzie. We did encounter some douchebags though, but I felt vindicated when the people who parked next to us not only peed on their car, but gave us two tickets to the infield. Talk about saving money!

After the walk to Churchill Downs, we were swept up in the huge crowd. I bought a mint julep and then went to the betting area (which has some fancy name that I can’t remember) and took the $5 DJ gave me and put it on American Pharaoh to finish. He later won the whole thing! We watched the race on TVs and left around six. I managed to avoid getting a sunburn and had a great time, all without seeing a single horse. I’d definitely go back, but I would probably get seats next time.

FullSizeRender_1

Here’s where I won $10.50. And by me I mean DJ. But I physically placed the bet.

Well, that’s all from me. As of now, I have 23 things left to accomplish in a year and a half. I’ve reconciled that I might not do it all, but what I do complete will be pretty memorable.

Leave a Reply

