(A Rather Large) October Book Haul!

Holy shit, there are a lot of books.

I didn’t even pay that much for all these books. For the most part, I took advantage of a sale and some were gifts were given to me by my lovely students. So as not to overwhelm my readers (or myself because it would have been pretty difficult to put all of these in one picture), I’m breaking this book haul down into three parts: beautiful books, books I bought/was given, and books from the library used book sale.

Strap in. Here we go!

Beautiful Books

FullSizeRender-3

LOOK AT THESE BOOKS. THEY ARE SO PRETTY.

Okay, sorry, I just got really excited.

But really, Penguin is going to send me into bankruptcy because they are putting out so many amazing editions of their books, including the super beautiful Penguin Drop Caps. The picture doesn’t do them justice, either. I’m now on a mission to collect (and display) all 26. I bought ‘Moby Dick’ and ‘Great Expectations’ first because they are on my ‘100 Books’ list.

The one in the middle is the Penguin English Library edition of ‘A Christmas Carol.’ Since revamping my library, I’ve become a little OCD about collecting books by authors in the same editions. I love these covers and plan to collect all of the Dickens books through my new favorite website, the Book Depository.

Books I Received or Bought  

image1

I’m very lucky that some of my students recently donated books to my library via my Scholastic wish list. This reminds me, I have some thank you cards to write…

Doll Bones by Holly Black-I just really like her writing, and I wanted something slightly creepy for Halloween.

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie-A fantastic book from the fantastic orator of two great Ted Talks. It was the book club pick and I’m SO glad we read it.

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld-I felt like a fool for never having read this series. I decided to teach it next year, too.

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan-I’ve heard excellent things about this book.

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck-Another book on the 100 list and it’s in the same edition as two of my other Steinbeck books.

The Round House by Louise Edrich- I need to read her and this book was sitting on the shelf of a used bookstore in great condition.

Library Used Book Sale Books 

image2

Look at that giant stack!

Recently, the Jeffco libraries had a used book sale. My friend Kristina and I went on Bag Day, where you can get a bag of books for $6. It took some maneuvering, but I managed to fit all of this in one grocery bag. Here’s the list (bottom to top):

Thunderstruck by Erik Larson
The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
Night Film by Marisha Pessl
Brick Lane by Monica Ali
The Red Tent by Anita Diamant
The Postmistress by Sarah Blake
Love in the Time of Cholera  by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Friday Night Lights by Peter Berg
Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
The Weight of Water by Anita Shreve
Call it Sleep by Henry Roth
Charlotte and Emily by Jude Morgan
The Russian Concubine by Kate Furnivall
State of Wonder by Ann Patchett
Annie John by Jamaica Kincaid
The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer

I wasn’t kidding when I said there were a lot of books. I think it’s time for a book buying ban…

I’m off to read! All joking aside, I’m so excited for these books! Until next time, I’m out.

Leave a Reply

