September Book Haul!

Uh…where did September go?

My first month of teaching flew by. Actually, as I type that, I realize what a gross exaggeration that is. It broke the sound barrier. I not only started head first into a new job, but I also was in two weddings, finished a class on plot, and climbed a mountain. Phew!

I also bought books. Here are the five beauties:

FullSizeRender

Mastering the Art of Soviet Cooking by Anya von Bremzen- A memoir I got for free from Blogging for Books. It’s gotten good buzz and it satisfies my interest in all things Russia.

Call of the Wild and White Fang by Jack London- I’m teaching these two books to the 6th graders and we’re enjoying them. I hadn’t read either from cover to cover so I picked up this awesome Vintage Classics edition.

MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood- I flew through Year of the Flood and desperately wanted to finish the trilogy. It’s the book I’ll probably pick up next.

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie- I’ve never read any Christie and she’s the queen of mystery, something I’ve been wanting to get into as a writer. Plus, I love these editions of her books.

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey- I’m trying to temper my excitement and expectations for this sequel. I loved The Fifth Wave last year and I’ve been hearing mixed things.

That’s all from me! I have to go back to writing (or buying books on Book Depository now that I got paid). Until next time, I’m out.

Leave a Reply

