The Gems in ‘Thrive’: A Book Review

Arianna Huffington’s Thrive: The Third Metric to Redefining Success and Creating a Life of Well-Being, Wisdom, and Wonder is like a mine. Most of it is sort of there, in the abyss, waiting to be noticed. If you rifle through the book, you can find some nuggets, even gems. Huffington poses important things to think over and to realize about life in a fast paced society. It just takes a while to find them. 

Huffington’s book was a lot longer than I was expecting, and she hammered the points home, and then some. Her basic thesis is that there are two things that define success—money and power—and that there needs to be a third metric because we’re all slowly killing ourselves. It’s not unlike the many posts you see in one of the numerous living well sections of The Huffington Post. She outlines that focusing on the third metric means focusing on its four elements; well-being, wisdom, wonder, and giving. 

Throughout the book she dispenses personal wisdom, sprinkles in quotes, and slams down lots of facts. I sometimes felt like I was reading the same thing over and over again, she rephrased and quoted from another famous person. It was dragging at times, and some of the information I found anecdotal or irrelevant. 

Amongst the coal, you can find a golden nugget. Here are three that I took from Huffington’s book:

1. Disconnect 

It’s okay to turn off your phone or put it in the other room to charge when you go to bed. In fact, it might even be good for you. Vacations should be a time away from technology. And for god’s sake, don’t text when you’re out with someone. 

2. Sleep! 

Here Huffington spoke to my heart. She talked about the importance of sleep and winding down from a busy day. She’s a proponent of naps! Me too, Arianna! She also gives some tips about going to bed and sleeping better. One that I’ve already abided by is to stop sleeping in workout clothes. My subconscious thinks I am going for a run, when in reality I need to to the opposite and fall asleep. She encourages pajamas, so I may have to invest in a couple more! 

3. Giving 

Huffington encourages people to volunteer and think about the impact that they, even one small instrument as Mother Teresa would say, can have on the world. It gave me pause. I volunteered a lot in high school and college, but have I really since then? The answer is, sadly, no. But this has given me something to work on. 

The gems saved the book and I gave it a 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. It’s those little things that I keep coming back to that make Thrive memorable. 

FTC Disclaimer: I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.
Leave a Reply

