June Book Haul!

photo-11

I’m posting this baby early because NO MORE BUYING BOOKS. I’ve said this time and time again, but this time I’m pretty serious. I’ll elaborate why in a later post but for now, I’m going to show off the books that I’ve acquired.

What’s really awesome is that four of the book in my haul came from the Book Riot Quarterly box. I subscribe to this and love it because it comes with loads of bookish goodies and it adds up to much more than what the box costs. So this is where I’d insert the thumbs up emoji.

Moving on…here are the books!

A Rogue by Any Other Name by Sarah McLean- The theme of the Book Riot box was ‘expanding your horizons.’ They wanted to include books from genres that often get a bad rap or simply overlooked, and romance is definitely one of them. I’ve never read a romance title before, but I’m definitely going to try it. I mean, look at that title! Can it get any more romance-y than that? If I’m going to read a bodice-ripper, than I’m glad it’s this one.

Evil Librarian by Michelle Knudsen- This is an ARC I received from the Quarterly box (ARC=Advanced Readers Copy) and it was a little bonus material. I have no idea what it’s about, but it looks like it’s in the vein of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King- I was pretty stoked to receive an A.S. King book from Book Riot since I feel like she’s the one YA author people love that I haven’t read.

The Killing Moon by N.K. Jemisin-The final book I got in the Quarterly box. All I know is that it’s a fantasy novel. But, like the theme of the box says, it’s all about expanding your horizons.

The One by Kiera Cass- The final book in the trilogy that I have SO many mixed feelings about. The covers are gorgeous though, no?

Wonder by R.J. Palacio- A middle-grade novel that is the summer reading selection for my middle schoolers. I’ve heard nothing but good things!

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace- My first foray into the world of DFW. I’m nervous and excited. More on this later 🙂

That’s all from me. Until Thursday, I’m out!

Leave a Reply

