My Writer Tree

Happy Monday everyone!

Mondays can be kinda dreary, even in summertime, so I decided to do a little writer-inspiration craft to hang in my new desk area. With out further ado, I present to you my writer tree!

Yes, I know, it looks either like something from a science lab or a Dr. Seuss book. And yes those are my fingerprints. I stole the idea from my friends Ben and Joey who did something similar to this at their wedding. Don’t worry, theirs turned out much cuter.

photo-8

In case it’s hard to see, I cited my six influences as Joyce Carol Oates, Margaret Atwood, John Green, Dave Eggers, Jhumpa Lahiri, and JK Rowling.

A writer tree is just a little idea I stole from Austin Kleon’s book ‘Steal Like An Artist’ which I read and re-read all this week. I basically wrote my six favorite authors that I would consider influences on my writing life and then, with the help of Google, looked up their respective influences and made a little visual about it. It’s like a weird family tree, although not dealing with genetics exactly.

I decided to do this because often I don’t think about my favorite writers as artists themselves who were once influenced by other writers. Doing this little tree is like looking at my ancestors and how they’ve shaped my personal history as a writer. I figured it was a good starting activity for my summer of learning about myself again, as a writer.

Also, I noticed three authors as standouts when I was putting this together; Kurt Vonnegut, Emily Brontë, and Mavis Gallant. I’ve read the first two, but I have only listened to one Mavis Gallant short story on a podcast. I’m thinking reading more of Mavis would be wise, just to see the kind of impression her writing made on two of my heavyweight favorites.

On a final note, I included the tombstones of my two favorite dead authors, Jane Austen and Edith Wharton. Respect.

How about you? Who would be on your writer tree?

Leave a Reply

