Bookshelf Tour #1!

Yeah, there’s a number one in the title because this is not the only bookshelf I own. I, in fact, have three (for now), and as I’m starting to settle in, the books are starting to find their homes and since I live alone, I’m going to share it with the internet. It’s so fun. I know you’re jealous, lovely readers. Don’t try to hide it. 🙂

Anyways, let’s take a look at this bookshelf!

IMG_0001.JPG

As you can see by the picture, this is like a bookcase built into the wall. It really was the selling point of the apartment I rented. It’s such a pretty place to display collectables, and I definitely have some of those!

IMG_0002_2

On this top shelf we have the Best American Short Story collections starting in 2010. My goal, of course, is to have all ten from this decade which I have unofficially dubbed my writing decade. My friend Matt started me on this collection. Plus, I do not read enough short stories. I pick these up and read a few whenever which is nice. It’s no pressure reading!

As far as decorative knick knacks go, you can see I have my fully stocked TBR jar and a silly picture of some lovely friends I visited in DC last year. That picture makes me smile.

IMG_0003_2

Going down a shelf we have a lot more color! In the middle is my collection of Jane Austen books in the cloth bound Penguin Classics. They are just beautiful and I love them. On the right side is a picture of me and my friend Sarah at her wedding and the other side is a sentimental artifact. My grandmother, whom I never never met, collected little knick knacks like these flowers. My mom was going through them and was going to donate them when her and my dad moved, so I decided to save one. A little bit of Grandma Mayes on my shelf. It makes me happy.

IMG_0004_2

Third shelf! This is pretty self explanatory—these are all my hardcovers. I usually do not display books I haven’t read, but if it’s a nice hardcover, I’ve put it out.

IMG_0005_2

The penultimate shelf! (Wow, that word really is overused). Here I have more hardcovers and that cool letter ‘E’ is a gift from my friend Kristina. You might not be able to see, but there’s two little cranes surrounding the ‘E’. They’re beautiful and from Japan.

IMG_0006_2

Lastly, we have my Harry Potters. That’s right, all seven in hardback with dust jackets. I had to buy Order of the Phoenix second hand to replace the dust jacket that was lost in one move or another. The three-fold picture frame are silly pictures I have from college. Sarah and I on Halloween our senior year, my friend Matt (different than the one who gave me the short story collection) on another Halloween, and Katie and I on our Caribbean cruise (Spring Break Oh-Nine! Spring Break Oh-Nine!)

That’s it! There is another little storage area under that last shelf, but I mostly keep my cleaning supplies there and no one needs to see that. Ha!

Definitely more to come as far as bookshelves go. Until next time, I’m out.

Leave a comment