April Book Haul

It’s the last day of April! Hooray! Here’s a look at the books I bought this month.

photo-5

 

So from top to bottom they are:

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley- Shockingly, I’ve never read this book, so I picked it up at my local bookstore. Also, why doesn’t anyone name their kid Aldous anymore?

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne- I’m thinking of teaching this during my Holocaust unit, but I’m not sure. I need to read it first!

The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood- I love love LOVE Margaret Atwood. This is the second in her MaddAdam trilogy and I’m excited to read it since I enjoyed the first one, Oryx and Crake.

A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra- It was 20% off at Barnes and Noble and it’s supposed to be good and set in present day Russia. SOLD.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple- A gift from my lovely friend, Kristina. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book so I’m looking forward to reading it.

The Changeling by Kenzaburo Oe- Another gift from Stu. It’s by a Japanese author and he brought it back for me from his recent trip to Japan because he said it reminds him of the synopsis I gave him of my book.

What We Walk About When We Talk About Anne Frank by Nathan Englander- Another book I picked up hoping to teach it next year. It was on sale at the Boulder Book Store.

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith- I found a used copy at reduced price and in good condition at the Tattered Cover (my favorite bookstore). I want to read it before the sequel comes out in June!

I also got a really great coffee table book at the BBS on sale as well, but I’m saving that for another post. 🙂 I’ll be posting a wrap up soon and lots more. As always, you can follow me on Twitter or Goodreads. In the meantime, let me know in comments or messages what you bought this month. Until next week, I’m out!

Leave a Reply

