The Fast Food Fast

Just like everyone else I know, I’m pretty busy these days. I’m trying to juggle lots, have a social life, and make sure that I have the necessary hours of sleep. It’s a lot! I find myself getting into bad habits when I’m busy, the biggest of them being eating out and fast food.

I could blog at length about food, weight, and health, but for now I will spare all of you. It’s no secret though that I am not a girl who loves to cook. It’s not that I can’t do it or that I hate food (in fact, it’s the opposite, I LOVE food), it’s mostly that I do not enjoy it like some of my friends do. This leads me to being lazy and indulging in fast food.

Now it’s not necessarily drive-thru food I get. It’s mostly stuff that I walk in and get, from Noodles or Qdoba or Chick-fil-A or Larkburger (I’m hungry just listing these places) and while it serves as a nice treat every now and then, I’ve come to rely on it. After working long days that test my patience, the last thing I want to do is come home and spend the last of my patience on cooking, when I should be saving it for dealing with my noisy downstairs neighbors and my writing.

This has lead me to go on what I’m going to call a Fast Food Fast, or really, a fast from eating out. I know, I’m about to be THAT girl who is a party pooper, but the fast is not going to be forever. It’s mostly just to get myself out of the habit. Trust me, I do not want to turn into one of those people who is vegan, sugar-free, dairy-free, gluten-free because that basically means I can eat berries, carrots, and tree bark and that’s no fun. Also, I love going out to eat. It’s literally one of my favorite things to do. I may not cook, but I appreciate good cooking.

I leave for vacation on May 16th, so as of the 17th, my eating out ban will be lifted, because (like I said) I’m on vacation. But no fast food! Lisa, if you read this, NO DRIVE THRUS. We are packing food like an adorable old couple!

Until then, no spending my own money on eating out until the 17th. If someone wants to take me out, I will certainly not protest, but otherwise I am spending my hard earned coin on food I can get at the grocery store to make meals.

That’s right…all grocery store meals.

We’re about to be BFFs, King Soopers.

Now, part of me just wants to eat hummus, veggies, and chips for every meal (my favorite snack!), but I know that would not be a good idea. So I’m going to try and make meals that are healthy and I’m going to try not to be lazy. We’ll see how this goes.

There are three things that I plan on doing in hopes it will help me with the Fast Food Fast. Here they are:

1. Make lots of meals in advance, so when I’m tired I just have to warm my food up.
2. Take advantage of the emergency stash at my parents, because it’s FREE. Sometimes, when I forget my lunch or something, I just go out and buy a burrito because it’s easy. My parents, who live close to where I work have a stash of very healthy food at their house that I don’t have to pay for and is specifically for me. I should utilize this resource! Plus, I can watch cable TV there, too.
3. Eat a decent size breakfast so I don’t snack on cake at work. It’s so delicious, but it’s not good for me for a multitude of reasons.

Okay, there you have it! In an effort to save money and be healthier, this is what I’ve decided to do. I’ll let you know how it pans out. I have lots of planned posts coming up, so you’ll hear from me soon. Until then, I’m out!

Leave a Reply

