Where does writing fit in when my life changes?

Hello everyone! I’ve been MIA from my little blog for a while because my life went from 0 to 60 in the span of a week. I got a job for the fall, a new apartment, and another job working at a bakery to help pay for said apartment until I start said job. While I keep vowing never to go back to retail, here I am again. Bakeries are fun though. Plus, we all know how I feel about sensitive bakers, so perhaps I’ll find one there?

Anyways, with a move and new job comes an ever expounding to-do list. Seriously. I woke up this morning (which I had off for some strange reason) and felt a crushing metaphorical pain that is my to-do list. I lay there thinking that this whole writing thing was just another thing on my to-do list and maybe I should push it aside. I have a whole calendar year of things to plan, I have to get all my ducks in order for the mountain of paperwork teachers go through, and the responsibilities of my current jobs. Plus I have trips coming up, parties to plan, loads of books to read, and an apartment that I need to finish moving into. All of that and I’m trying to maintain a social life, complete a fun bucket list, stay in shape, and still have time to veg out and catch up on Game of Thrones (I’m perpetually stuck in Season 2).

So where does writing fit in to all of this? So many of these things are obligations. Do I still see writing as one? Or do I see it as a need? I like having time to focus on one important thing, but I also like having lots of different things to do. When I step back and look at my life, everything except for the writing is going well. In fact, the writing is the one thing that’s suffering, and it bothers me.

So, from here on out I need to focus and figure out where it fits in. Do I give up on it totally? That’s a dumb idea, since I know myself well enough to know I’ll come back to it, so swearing it off is stupid. Do I categorize it as a hobby? Do I mark it as a priority?

I don’t have answers to these questions, but I’m willing to keep going.

Leave a Reply

