Read It or Skip It: Non-fiction edition!

Hello everyone! It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these, but I haven’t been slacking on my reading, I promise. Instead of doing a hodgepodge of books, I thought I’d try out having a themed ‘Read It or Skip It.’ I’m all about experimentation over here in lantern land. First up are some non-fiction books I read recently. If you’ve got suggestions for what non-fiction I should read next, send them my way! 

The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg

Read it! I advise that everyone, no matter what line of work they’re in, will get something from reading this book.

Spook by Mary Roach

Read it you like science but are a “non-science” person, if you question the afterlife.
Skip it if none of the above applies to you

A House in the Sky by Amanda Lindhout (with Sara Corbett)

Read it if you like memoirs, travel writing, and have an interest in Somalia (not a place I advise traveling to).
Skip it if you can’t stomach assault and abuse

Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Read it if you like books in the vein of Eat, Pray, Love or outdoorsy adventure stories.
Skip it if the whole wandering soul thing gets on your nerves.

The War of Art and Do The Work by Steven Pressfield

Read them, don’t skip ’em! These books are perfect for creative types and they are also good for anyone with a large, seemingly insurmountable task in front of them. They’re both so short you could read one in a day.

When Women Were Birds by Terry Tempest Williams

Read it if you like meditative works that incorporate nature and spirituality or science, like Walden or the works of Annie Dillard (The Pilgrim at Tinker Creek). Otherwise, skip it. There’s some tokens of wisdom in here, but it’s not for everybody.

Leave a Reply

