Friday Hodgepodge!

Hello everyone! Happy Friday!

There are a lot of things I wanted to write about, but none of them long enough to be an adequate blog post, so I just thought I’d post a hodgepodge of goodies for everyone!

Let’s get started with a fun video for all you lovers of language out there. Below is John Green (author of The Fault in Our Stars) sharing the origins of idioms. Mental Floss is doing a very fun series with him. Other videos include weird college mascots, misquotations, grammar mistakes, and the names of fictional characters you didn’t know had actual names.

How about some fun and interesting links? Okay, here are a five!

Bookish things:

    • Since it’s the beginning of October that means new books are hitting the shelves! What are you most excited for? For me it’s Allegiant by Veronica Roth and The Circle by Dave Eggers (I am a total Dave Eggers fangirl).
    • Drunk Literature is a thing.

Non-bookish things:

  • If you’re obsessed with Lorde and Royals as much as I am (or even half as obsessed as I am) here’s a cool mash-up  of her uber hit and M.I.A.’s Paper Planes my friend Jenna sent me. If you like a capella, this is totally for you.  That one’s from my friend Mike.
  • Are you mourning the loss of Breaking Bad and Jesse Pinkman like I am? Relieve everything terrible thing that’s ever happened to him.

There’s been some additions to the blog! While there’s nothing major going on, I added a contact page, an important dates page (ominous, no?), and a 100 Books List that I won’t to complete by the time I’m 30. A girl can dream.

Also, I’m on Tumblr! You can visit me here. All the posts here are also on Tumblr, but sometimes I reblog some funny or bookish pictures. As always, I’m on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

That’s all from me! Have the loveliest of weekends. Until Tuesday, I’m out.

Leave a Reply

