Draft #2 is finished!

In the wee small hours of Monday morning, I finished the second draft of the A story. Woohoo!

phoebe and rachel dancing

Like with most drafting processes, this one was definitely a learning experience. I figured out that if I push through and keep writing, even when I’m feeling uninspired or frustrated, I can write my way through it. One of the challenges to my story is that I have three narrators. I love their alternating perspectives and together they make the story whole, but I was struggling with one character’s arc more than the other two. So I made a plan and then kept writing him. I even got an idea in the process that I think improved everything as a whole. His storyline, as with the manuscript in general, will be revised many more times.

So what’s next you ask? Well, I’m going to let the draft be for a while, and then I’m going to go through and clean it up so it’s presentable for my Ideal Readers and writer’s group to go through. Showing my work to people is daunting, as I’ve expressed many times before, but necessary. In the meantime, I’m off to the store after my celebratory cinnamon roll tomorrow morning to get a notebook for the next project. As the song goes, there ain’t no rest for the wicked (or, in the case, the poor struggling artist).

That’s all for now. I’ll have some freed up writing time and I can hopefully blog a little more. Hope you are all well. Until then, I’m out.

 

Leave a Reply

