July Reads and Good News/Bad News

As much as I wish I was writing this blog from Chicago, recovering from Lollapalooza (as it is my dream to go every year) sadly I am in Denver, dealing with some cold, hard real life stuff. Sigh. Real life. I’m 26 and still allowed to say it sucks sometimes, right?

cam crying at monitor

I’ll start with the bad news. I’m not workshopping in two weeks time. My novel is not at a stage where it can be workshopped and also there’s the little (re:big) issue of money. Simply not enough at the moment. But, I am optimistic that there will be enough come October (which seems YEARS away but it’ll be here before I know it) and that by then my writers group and writer friends will have read it and provided even better feedback. I’m all about the feedback these days.

The good news is I had a great meeting with my writers group formed from the non-annoying people in my last workshop. I’ve vented before about how some people drive me nuts, but the people in my writers group do not drive me nuts. In fact, they’re beyond helpful. I left our meeting feeling rejuvenated and ready to rework A into an actual novel. Even better, they want to read it! To me, this good news far outweighs the bad.

In the meantime, July was a month that kicked my ass, but I did manage to read the current YA book-of-the-moment The Fifth Wave.

Now, me personally, I’m not really into aliens. Like I can’t take them seriously. The movie Signs kinda freaked me out, but that was more psychological than extra-terrestrial . I once argued with an ex-boyfriend over dinner whether or not aliens existed (I came down on the ‘no’ side). Because of this I was sort of hesitant to read Rick Yancey’s book.

Turns out that it’s not about aliens, at least, not like you think. I’m holding back here because it’s a spoiler, but the book surprised me with how good it was. It’s also another dystopian story with alternating points of view, the main being Cassie, a sixteen-year-old girl who is just trying to survive and get to her brother despite the fact that a majority of the population has been wiped out by the first, second, third, and fourth waves of an alien invasion. This alien invasion isn’t cartoonish, instead it’s eerie and upsettingly violent. Again, I have to speak vaguely to avoid spoilers. Suffice to say, I liked the book and recommend it even if you don’t like aliens. Cassie is a great narrator who made me laugh and cry and I loved the vividness of her hallowed, burned world.

Well, that’s all for me now. I should probably return to my metaphorical writer cave. Until next time, I’m out.

Leave a Reply

